2019 Gold Cup

The Gold Cup is the Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football national team championship. The 2019 edition is the 15th edition and takes place in United States, Costa Rica and Jamaica. The latter two will host two games to open their respective groups, B and C. The Gold Cup features 16 teams for the first time and runs from June 15 to July 7. The Gold Cup has shifted between odd and even years and is held every two years.

The 16 qualifiers (out of 41 total members) are those who finished in the top 6 of 2018 World Cup qualification, the so called hexagonal plus the top 10 in the newly created CONCACAF Nations League. It is the first time that the Gold Cup is contested with 16 teams. It began as an eight team tournament in 1991.

A big total of 17 venues will be used with the smallest being Kansas City’s Children’s Mercy Park with a capacity of just under 19,000, the home of MLS’ Sporting Kansas City. The largest will be Pasadena’s Rose bowl with a 90,888 capacity.

Four groups of four were drawn and they are as follows

Costa Rica
El Salvador
Trinidad and Tobago

Mexico have won the Gold Cup seven times, USA six times and the only other winners were Canada in 2000. USA are the defending champions.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.